Mississippi places a high value on the privacy of its citizens. If you film someone without their consent, you may face serious legal consequences. In some situations, you may even be charged with a felony. In the modern era of TikTok, YouTube, and Instagram, it’s easy to assume that everyone wants to be part of a viral video and have their 15 seconds of fame on the internet. But it’s important to understand that Mississippi is not your personal film set, and the individual rights and freedoms of others should be respected.
If you have been charged with a recording crime in Mississippi, you should get in touch with a qualified, experienced criminal defense attorney as soon as possible. Although the Magnolia State takes these crimes very seriously, there are certain defense strategies that can be very effective in this scenario. With the right legal assistance, you can show the court that this was all just a misunderstanding.
Recording Laws in Mississippi
Mississippi is considered a “one-party consent state” when it comes to recording laws. This means that you need to obtain the consent of at least one person taking part in the recording before you can record them. This means that if you are contributing to the conversation or activity, you can record.
You cannot share footage that was illegally or secretly obtained through the use of a hidden camera.
Reasonable Expectation of Privacy
One of the most important legal terms to understand here is the “reasonable expectation of privacy.” If you photograph or film someone without their permission in a private space, you will face felony charges. This is especially true if the person you are filming is in a location where they might undress. These places include locker rooms, bathrooms, showers, private dwellings, dressing rooms, and so on. This is considered a “crime against public morals and decency” in the state of Mississippi. If convicted, you face a fine of $5,000, a prison sentence of up to five years, or both.
Filming Underage People
If you violate the above law and the individual is under the age of 16, you face even more serious consequences. Although you will still face a fine of up to $5,000, you face double the maximum prison sentence (10 years). This is why you need to be very careful when filming other people in Mississippi, even if you yourself are a young person.
Enlist the Help of a Qualified Attorney Today
If you have been charged with crimes related to filming without consent, reach out to Ballard Law, PLLC today. We have considerable experience with a wide range of criminal cases, and we have helped a number of defendants achieve positive legal outcomes. With our help, you can put this entire debacle behind you and continue with your life. Book your consultation now.
Ballard Law, PLLC
108 S President St.
Jackson, MS 39201