Get A Local South Dakota Criminal Defense Attorney

If you are a resident of the state of South Dakota or are facing criminal charges in the state, there is certain information you need to be aware of when it comes time to attend an arraignment, trial, or other court meeting where your charges are going to be discussed. Failure to appear at these court hearings could result in you being held contempt of court and ultimately be charged with another offense. To avoid this from happening, below is a breakdown of the judicial district of SD and the district judges who represent those divisions.


Four Divisions of the South Dakota Judicial District


The State of South Dakota constitutes one judicial district divided into four divisions (28 U.S.C. § 122).

  1. The Northern Division comprises the counties of Brown, Campbell, Clark, Codington, Corson, Day, Deuel, Edmunds, Grant, Hamlin, McPherson, Marshall, Roberts, Spink, and Walworth.

The place of holding court is Aberdeen.


The District Judge for Aberdeen:

Charles B. Kornmann

United States District Judge

102 Fourth Avenue, SE, Room 408

Aberdeen, SD 57401 605-377-2600


  1. The Southern Division includes the counties of Aurora, Beadle, Bon Homme, Brookings, Brule, Charles Mix, Clay, Davison, Douglas, Hanson, Hutchinson, Kingsbury, Lake, Lincoln, McCook, Miner, Minnehaha, Moody, Sanborn, Turner, Union, and Yankton.


The place of holding court is Sioux Falls.


The District Judges for Sioux Falls:

Karen E. Schreier
United States District Judge
400 South Phillips Avenue, Room 233

Sioux Falls, SD 57104

John B. Jones
United States District Judge
400 South Phillips Avenue, Room 302 Sioux Falls, SD 57104

Lawrence L. Piersol
United States District Judge
400 South Phillips Avenue, Room 202 Sioux Falls, SD 57104


  1. The Central Division encompasses the counties of Buffalo, Dewey, Faulk, Gregory, Haakon, Hand, Hughes, Hyde, Jerauld, Jones, Lyman, Mellette, Potter, Stanley, Sully, Todd, Tripp, and Ziebach.


The place of holding court is Pierre.

District Judge for Pierre:

Roberto A. Lange
United States District Judge

225 S. Pierre Street, Room 413

Pierre, SD 57501 605-945-4610


  1. The Western Division comprises the counties of Bennett, Butte, Custer, Fall River, Harding, Jackson, Lawrence, Meade, Oglala Lakota, Pennington and Perkins.


The place of holding court is Rapid City.

District Judges for Rapid City, SD

Jeffrey L. Viken
Chief Judge
Andrew W. Bogue Federal Building and United States Courthouse
515 Ninth Street, Room 318
Rapid City, SD 57701 605-399-6050


Have a Court Case Coming Up?


Having adequate legal representation when going into a courtroom can increase your chances of not being charged with the maximum penalty. Our SD defense lawyers are familiar with all the state laws, have experience in the field of justice, and will gladly represent you and fight to get your charges reduced or even dismissed.

Whether you are facing the criminal charges or you’re a family member in search of a local defense lawyer in SD, we will connect you with some of the best layers in the field who can take on any case brought their way.