Many states have changed their rulings to permit the usage of marijuana for medical purposes. However, Texas chose to remain steadfast on keeping marijuana illegal for the general public. Marijuana is still considered illegal in Texas because it is categorized as a Schedule I drug. Schedule I drugs are generally easy to abuse and they often carry very low to no health benefits for the person consuming them.
Am I allowed to cultivate Marijuana in Texas?
It is illegal to cultivate, produce, sell, and buy marijuana in Texas. If a person is caught with marijuana they will be held legally responsible and can be made to face a variety of penalties. The severity of their penalty will be linked to the quantity of marijuana they had in their possession. A person can also be penalized more severely based on how long they have been dealing with marijuana and if they have any prior convictions on their record.
If a person is caught with two ounces or less of marijuana, they can be fined up to $2000 and also face up to 180 days in jail. This penalty, though, severe, is not nearly as intense as when someone is caught with more than four ounces of marijuana. Being caught with more than four ounces is considered a felony and can lead a person to face up to two years in prison while having to pay up to $10,000 in fines.
If a person was cultivating marijuana and they are found to possess over 2000 pounds of it, they will be forced to face a minimum of 5 years and up to 99 years in prison while also having to pay $50,000 in fines.
If a person is caught possessing marijuana, they should definitely get in touch with a criminal-drug possession lawyer in McAllen, Texas. A criminal-drug possession lawyer can help educate a person on their current stance and can help them understand which defenses they can utilize in court depending on their specific situation.
What are the rulings for possessing marijuana paraphernalia?
Drug paraphernalia basically refers to any equipment which is used to produce, consume or hide drugs. If a person is caught with paraphernalia they will most likely be charged with a misdemeanor crime. In the case of simple possession, they will not have to face any jail time but they can be charged up to $500 in fines.
However, if a person is caught selling paraphernalia they can be charged up to $4000 and also be forced to undergo up to one year of jail time.
Paraphernalia includes items used to:
- Harvest marijuana
- Grow marijuana
- Use marijuana
- Store marijuana
- Sell marijuana
The charges a person can face for handling marijuana or even paraphernalia in McAllen, Texas are very serious and should not be taken lightly. If a person is wrongfully accused or charged for possession of paraphernalia they should contact a legal professional to help them defend themselves and clear their name.