Augusta, ME Criminal Defense Attorneys Explain What Happens to Your CDL When Charged with a Crime

criminal defense lawyers in Maine

When an individual is issued a CDL, Commercial Driver’s License, it likely means they are going to be responsible for operating a vehicle that is either carrying goods or passengers. Whether they are transporting hundreds and thousands of dollars’ worth of products or the precious lives of people, there is a large amount of responsibility placed on their shoulders. And with responsibility comes accountability. As a CDL holder, you are accountable for following all the rules and guidelines that come along with carrying this type of license and face the consequences when you fail to do so.

 

What happens if I am a CDL holder but I was charged with a crime?

 

If you were charged with a serious traffic violation, you will lose your CDL for at least 60 days if you have committed two serious traffic violations within a three-year period involving a commercial motor vehicle(CMV). You also risk losing your CDL for at least 120 days if you commit three or more serious traffic violations within a three-year period involving a CMV. A serious traffic violation includes:

 

  • Excessive speeding
  • Reckless driving
  • Improper or erratic lane changes
  • Following a vehicle too closely
  • Traffic offenses committed in a CMV in connection with fatal traffic accidents
  • Driving a CMV without obtaining a CDL or having a CDL in the driver’s possession
  • Driving a CMV without the proper class of CDL and/or endorsements

 

[Source: Maine.gov].

 

You should also know that even if you were driving a personal, non-commercial vehicle at the time of the charge, your CDL could still be suspended.

 

What should a CDL holder do after being criminally charged?

 

One of the first things you are going to want to do after being charged with a crime is notify your employer along with the state that issued your CDL. You will want to do this within 30 days of a conviction. Even if you have arranged some sort of agreement with the state in which you were charged, the state that issued your license or the DMV may still decide to suspend your CDL privileges.

The next thing you are going to want to do is get in contact with an Augusta, ME criminal defense attorney given you were convicted in this city. Not only can they help minimize the risk of having your CDL suspended, but they can also provide you with some legal advice as you may have employers and other departments coming to you for answers. Some other things a criminal defense attorney can help you with include deciding what plea to offer or what plea deal to accept.

criminal defense attorneys in Maine
If you were criminally charged and are a CDL holder in the state of Maine, you will want to get in contact with a criminal defense attorney immediately as they can inform you on what penalties you will likely be faced with.

Although many individuals are left under the impression that a minor offense won’t result in harsh penalties, they are actually much more serious than you might think. When your CDL is suspended, you aren’t able to drive or potentially work which could truly impact you and your family’s financial well-being. So, if you want to increase your chances of keeping your CDL privileges or at least reducing the timeframe it is expected to be suspended, contact Mitchell & Davis, P.A. The defense lawyers at this firm have the experience and knowledge necessary to explain your legal options as well as help you protect your CDL.

 

You can reach Mitchell & Davis, P.A. at:

86 Winthrop Street, Suite 1

Augusta, ME 04330

888-335-1657


By | 9:17 pm | Categories: Uncategorized | 0 Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *